New Music Playlist: September 2018

NM September 2018
Top row left to right: Colleen Green, Yowler, Charly Bliss, Noname, Lala Lala; bottom row: Tiny Deaths, Justus Proffit & Jay Som, Bad Moves, Mountain Man, Low

September has already come to a close (hello Rocktober!), which means that it’s time to round-up some of the month’s releases.

One of the stand-outs of September is Tell No One, the debut full-length album by Washington, DC’s Bad Moves. Released on Don Giovanni Records and recorded with Hop Along’s Joe Reinhart, Tell No One has earned attention from NPR Music to the Washington Post. Bad Moves work collaboratively, writing songs as a unit and sharing vocals among all four members.

Other collaborative releases from this past month include the EP, Nothing’s Changed, from Justus Proffit and Jay Som, and Magic Ship, the first album in eight years from the Appalachian folk trio Mountain Man.

What else was new in September? Noname dropped the album Room 25, the follow-up to her 2016 debut, Telefone. Duluth trio Low create cacophonous and cathartic instrumentals on Double Negative. Tiny Deaths reflect on growing up and defining your identity on Magic. 

You can listen to the full playlist on Spotify, or using the player below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s